Good driving is all about following the rules of the road and being aware of your fellow drivers.

Anytime something goes wrong, it’s often the case of a driver misunderstanding or disregarding Missouri’s traffic laws. Then, when a car crash makes it to the insurance company or courtroom, they will use Missouri’s traffic laws to determine which driver was “at fault.”

Below, we’ll outline some of the most frequently asked questions about Missouri’s traffic laws.

Does slower traffic actually have to keep right?

Traffic law in Missouri says that slower traffic must yield to faster traffic by moving to the right and allowing cars to pass.

However, this rule has a few exceptions. If you’re on a one-way street, you don’t have to move over for faster traffic. You also don’t have to move over if you’re passing another car making a left turn, or if you’re about to turn left yourself (MO Stat. § 304.015.1).

Are you required to pass on the left in Missouri?

Yes. You may only pass on the left when there is no oncoming traffic and it is safe to do so. Once you have passed a car in the lane to your right, you can only return to the lane your if your motor vehicle has safely cleared the other car. In other words: Respect the other driver’s right of way, and don’t cut people off.

If you are being passed, you cannot increase your speed and you must allow the other car to pass you (MO Stat. § 304.016.1).

Is ‘tailgating’ legal under Missouri law?

No. Following another vehicle closer than “what is reasonably safe and prudent” is against the law in Missouri (MO Stat. § 304.017.1). The rule of thumb is to maintain a space of one car length for every 10 miles per hour that you’re traveling.

If you’re driving 60 mph, this means you should keep at least six car lengths between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you. However, if you’re driving in adverse weather, it’s a good idea to  increase the space between your vehicle and the one in front of you.

What is the minimum speed limit on Missouri interstate highways?

In Missouri, the minimum speed limit on highways is 40 mph when weather and road conditions are favorable.

However, if adverse weather or road conditions make it unsafe to drive at that speed, you must slow down to a speed that is safe for the current conditions (MO Stat. $ 304.011).

What is the maximum speed limit on Missouri highways?

The maximum speed limit on Missouri highways is 70 mph.

However, there are some exceptions to this rule. The maximum speed limit on highways in urban areas is 65 mph, and the maximum speed limit on other highways in urban areas is 55 mph.

If you travel faster than these speeds, you are speeding and can be found at fault if your actions lead to a crash (MO Stat. $ 304.010).

When two cars reach a 4-way stop at the same time, which one goes first?

If two cars arrive at a 4-way stop at the same time, the car on the right has the right of way and can go first. The driver on the left must yield and wait their turn (MO Stat. § 304.351.1).

When are you allowed to make a left turn across traffic?

You can only make a left turn across traffic when it is safe to do so and there is no oncoming traffic. You must also signal your intention to turn left at least 100 feet before you make the turn (MO Stat. § 304.351.1)

Are you allowed to make a U-turn on a red light in Missouri?

No. You are not allowed to make a U-turn on a red light in Missouri.

In fact, Missouri law prohibits turning a vehicle the opposite direction at any intersection controlled by a traffic light or peace officer (MO Stat. § 304.341).

What should you do if you are involved in a car crash in Missouri?

If you are involved in a car accident in Missouri, the first thing you should do is stop your car and make sure everyone involved is okay.

Then, you should call the police and exchange insurance information with the other driver. If there are any witnesses to the accident, try to get their contact information as well. It’s also a good idea to take pictures of the accident scene, if possible.

Once the police have arrived and filed a report, you should contact your insurance company to start the claims process.

Even if you don’t feel like you were injured, it’s always a good idea to see a doctor after an accident. Sometimes, injuries can take days or even weeks to appear. If you wait too long to seek medical treatment, your insurance company may refuse to pay for your medical bills.

Finally, it’s a good idea to call a St. Louis car accident lawyer to discuss your case. The lawyer can help you understand your legal rights and options, and can fight to get you the compensation you deserve.

Call the attorneys at Niemeyer, Grebel and Kruse today for a free consultation – 314-241-1919.

CategoryLegal Advice

© 2016 - 2023 NGK LAW FIRM | All Rights Reserved